History of the Wing Fling


In 1983, during a general meeting during which the Wing Riders SA club was born, it was proposed and accepted that Wing Riders SA would have an annual rally called a Wing Fling and that each province would have a turn in organising and hosting it. On the return trip to the Reef (Johannesburg/Pretoria area, now called Gauteng), Johan Hattingh (founder member) and company called in at Christiana and laid the foundations for the first Wing Fling which was to be held in 1985.

In October 1985, 64 Gold Wings arrived at the first Wing Fling at the Rob Ferreira Resort near Christiana. The following year, 1986, the Wing Fling was once again held at the Rob Ferreira Resort.

The Western Cape discussed the option of having a Wing Fling in Cape Town in 1987 and to make it worthwhile for the members from the Reef, Natal, East London, Port Elizabeth and Free State to attend, a programme for a week-long event was arranged and presented to members at the Annual General Meeting. It was accepted and hence the 1987 Wing Fling was held at the Ritz Plaza Hotel, Sea Point, Cape Town, where 75 Gold Wings attended.

Since then the Wing Fling has continued to be a week-long event.

For photos of Wing Flings during years gone by …2013 Wing Fling in the news on IOL:
SA Wing Riders glam up for 29th rally

Listed below are the Wing Flings to date:

1 1985 Rob Ferreira Resort, Christiana
2 1986 Rob Ferreira Resort, Christiana
3 1987 Ritz Plaza, Sea Point, Cape Town
4 1988 Numbi Hotel, Hazyview
5 1989 Willem Pretorius Reserve, Free State
6 1990 Karridene Hotel, South Coast, KZN
7 1991 Rob Ferreira Resort, Christiana
8 1992 Brenton-on-Lake, Knysna
9 1993 Graskop, Mpumalanga
10 1994 Virginia, Free State
11 1995 Port Edward, KwaZulu-Natal
12 1996 Tulbagh, Western Cape
13 1997 Hazyview, Mpumalanga
14 1998 Bloemfontein, Free State
15 1999 Rustenburg, North-West
16 2000 Golden Gate, Free State
17 2001 Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
18 2002 Cape Rendezvous, Cape Town
19 2003 Naboomspruit, Limpopo Valley
20 2004 Port Edward, KwaZulu-Natal
21 2005 Krugersdorp, Gauteng
22 2006 Knysna, Western Cape
23 2007 Harrismith, KwaZulu-Natal
24 2008 Port Edward, KwaZulu-Natal
25 2009 Witrivier, Mpumalanga
26 2010 Sedgefield, Western Cape
27 2011 Bethlehem, Free State
28 2012 Rustenburg, North-West
29 2013 Stellenbosch, Western Cape
30 2014 Port Alfred, KwaZulu-Natal
31 2015 Magoebaskloof, Tzaneen
32 2016 Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
33 2017 Bethlehem, Free State
34 2018 Caledon, Western Cape
35 2019 Hazyview, Mpumalanga
2020 Cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic
36 2021 Knysna, Western Cape
37 2022 Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
38 2023 Polokwane, Limpopo province